CA Landlord Tenant Law
If you are reading this article, you are probably one of the millions of tenants in the state of California who is trying to get a better understanding of CA landlord tenant law. If that is your cause, this article will definitely help you as it will provide a small summary of important CA landlord tenant law clauses that might be useful for a tenant during the course of a rental arrangement. There is a clause in CA landlord tenant law to cover a multitude of renting issues such as security deposits, repairs, habitability, notice periods, rent increases, rent control, foreclosure rights, eviction rights and so on and this article will try to cover a few of these aspects of CA landlord tenant law.
Laws against discrimination – CA landlord tenant law – CA landlord tenant law has a very strict code of conduct that is expected from landlords when it comes to discriminatory issues. Landlords cannot screen, accept, reject or provide subjective service on the basis of race, color, sex, sexual orientation, handicapped status etc. If a tenant or a rental applicant feels that they have been subject to possible discrimination by a landlord, CA landlord tenant law requests them to call 800-233-3212, the California department of fair employment and housing, to report the case of discrimination. CA landlord tenant law will then take appropriate action against the guilty or suspected landlord who might have engaged in discrimination.
Security deposits – CA landlord tenant law – CA landlord tenant law will require landlords to refund a security deposit within a 3 week period that will begin counting after the expiry of a lease or after the tenant has left the rental premises. The landlord is permitted to deduct the security deposit refund for repairs that have to be carried out although CA landlord tenant law will require such repairs to be proved to the tenant in the form of an itemized bill. The itemized bill will also have to be submitted to the tenant within that same 21 day period, according to CA landlord tenant law. CA landlord tenant law will also regulate the amount of security deposit that can be legally charged by a landlord before the tenant moves in. A maximum of two months for unfurnished apartments and a maximum of three months’ rent for furnished apartments are the permissible limits for security deposit charges.
Three day notice before evictions – CA landlord tenant law – CA landlord tenant law will protect tenants against sudden and unexpected evictions even if the tenant has not paid rent or has clearly broken the terms of a rental agreement. According to CA landlord tenant law, a landlord will have to provide a hand served notice to evict or notice to quit to the tenant, giving them a warning about impending eviction procedures that can be filed after 3 days. The tenant can take the opportunity to rectify or make amends to their renting situation during these three days before it goes to court. If the case goes to eviction court, CA landlord tenant law will allow a judge to preside over the case and decide on the outcome of the eviction.
CA Landlord Tenant Law
2 Responses to “CA Landlord Tenant Law”
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.