California Landlord Laws

California Landlord Laws – Rules California Landlords Must Follow

Just like all the other states in the U.S., California has an extensive set of California landlord laws that will help the law govern rental contracts that can sometimes be subject to confusion and dispute. In the passage below, the reader will find a short write up on some important California landlord laws that will protect the rights of both the landlord as well as the tenant. One should read these California landlord laws in conjunction with the terms of a lease as the terms of a lease might have the ability to slighty modify the California landlord laws although they will still have to be in compliance to the general state laws.

Security deposits – California landlord laws – California landlord laws will restrict the amount that is sought as security deposit. For furnished rental apartments or properties, the landlord will be able to charge three months of rent as security deposit while California landlord laws will allow only two months of rent to be charged as the maximum permissible security deposit for an unfurnished apartment. Also, California landlord laws will require the security deposit to be refunded back to the tenant in a period of three weeks after the end of a tenancy. California landlord laws will allow a landlord to charge an additional security deposit in the form of a waterbed security deposit if the tenant is in possession of a waterbed. The law will allow the landlord to charge an extra half a month’s rent as a deposit for tenants who have waterbeds.

Discrimination – California landlord laws - California landlord laws will prohibit any kind of discrimination and it is illegal for landlords to deny rental applications on the basis of color, sex, race and even immigration status. California landlord laws will also require landlords to make reasonable modifications to allow a handicapped person to take up residence in a rental property and landlords cannot simply handicapped applicants tenancy just because they are going to cost the landlord additional money to accommodate them.

Notice to quit before filing an eviction case – California landlord laws – California landlord laws will allow landlords to evict tenants for several valid reasons such as nonpayment of rent or for having a pet in a property where pets are not allowed. In any case, California landlord laws will require the landlords to provide a three day notice to evict to the tenant. During these three days, the tenant can take steps to halt the eviction process. For example, they can pay off any back or owed rent or remove the pet from the rental premises to come into compliance with the terms of the lease. The tenant will also have the option to leave the rental premises on their own during this three day period. After the three day period, if the tenant has not taken any constructive steps, California landlord laws will allow the landlord to file an eviction case in court. A judge will be appointed to the eviction case and the result of the eviction will be at the sole discretion of the judge who will rule in favor of the tenant or the landlord, depending on the case that is presented to them.

One thought on “California Landlord Laws

  1. I have a question. I have someone living on my property, needed a place to stay. No money exchanged. She gave a 30 day notice, which is up today. Via a text message. Than last week she gave me another 30 day notice via in writing. She has moved out some of her things but not all. And hasn’t been sleeping there. Can I lock her out. She is using the place simply for storage. What can I do legally with out going thru a formal eviction .

Leave a Reply