California Landlord Tenant Laws Explained
California landlord tenant law comprises of an extensive set of rules and regulations that will regulate and guide all aspects of a rental contract. In fact, California landlord tenant law will also govern the way rental contracts are carried out even before a rental contract has come into existence or after it has run its course. For example, California landlord tenant law will dictate the terms on which a tenant can be selected or eliminated before a lease agreement is signed while it will also regulate how a security deposit is to be refunded after the end of a lease. The passage below will go over a few such important aspects of California landlord tenant law.
Security deposits – California landlord tenant law – There are some very specific California landlord tenant law statutes about how much security deposit can be collected by a landlord. For example, California landlord tenant law will only allow two months of rent to be collected as security deposit for an apartment that is unfurnished while up to three months of rent can be collected as security deposit for a furnished apartment. California landlord tenant law will however allow landlords to collect lower amounts as security deposit if they choose to. The California landlord tenant law also specifies that a landlord must refund the security deposit within a three week period, i.e. within 21 days after the renter has left the building, after the end of a lease. If the landlord has made deductions to the security deposit, California landlord tenant law will require the landlord to provide proof of these deductions to the tenant, also within 21 days. The proof of deductions can be itemized bills that will need to list various expenses such as labor, materials etc.
Three days notice before eviction procedures – California landlord tenant law – California landlord tenant law will require landlords to provide a buffer period of three days to the tenant before they go ahead and file an eviction case in court. So, if a landlord is trying to evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent or for keeping pets in a no-pet rental community, California landlord tenant law will require the landlord to first give three days of time to the tenant to either pay off back rent or remove the pets from their apartments. California landlord tenant law will then allow landlords to proceed with an eviction case in court if the tenant has not responded to their notice or has deliberately ignored it.
Discrimination – California landlord tenant law – California landlord tenant law has some of the toughest clauses on discrimination and landlords are not allowed to screen tenants or offer biased services to tenants based on their sex, color, country of origin etc. Since California is home to a very diverse population, California landlord tenant law has even come up with a hotline number that can be used by tenants who feel that they have been discriminated against. The hotline number to call in to report discrimination by landlords is 800-233-3212. The law in California also prohibits discrimination against physically handicapped people and landlords are required to make a reasonable effort to accommodate handicapped tenants even if it means that they have to make reasonable modifications to the rental premises.