California Renters Laws
California Renters Laws
California or “The Golden State” is one of the largest states in the U.S that is home to millions of tenants. To protect the rights and interest of this vast renting population, the state has come up with an exhaustive set of California renters laws. One will be able to look up the complete list of California renters laws at a state website or even through a law handbook at a public library. However, it is mostly enough if tenants are at least aware of the most important California renters laws that are applicable today. The passage below will briefly touch upon these very important aspects of California renters laws.
Privacy laws – California renters laws – California renters laws will allow a landlord to possess a key to a rental property although they may only enter a rental property after informing tenants in advance. Also, California renters laws state that the landlord may only enter a property for a valid reason such as to carry out a repair or to conduct an investigation of a request for repairs made by the tenant. California renters laws will also allow a landlord to enter a property to show the property to potential tenants who might be interested to rent the property in the future. A tenant can sue a landlord who enters a property without notice and will even be legally permitted to make a citizen’s arrest. However, these California renters laws relating to intrusion of privacy will not apply during an emergency situation and a landlord will be able to enter without any prior notice.
Security deposits – California renters laws – According to California renters laws, a landlord may charge a security deposit if it is no more than two months of rent for an unfurnished apartment. If the apartment is furnished, California renters laws will allow the landlord to collect three months of rent as a security deposit. Additionally, another half a month’s rent can be collected as security deposit if the tenant is in possession of a waterbed. It is the responsibility of the landlord to refund the security deposit, minus any deductions, within 21 days after the tenant has left a property. If a landlord fails to refund the security deposit in a timely manner or if they fail to provide a proof of the deductions made to the security deposit refund, California renters laws will allow the tenant to sue the landlord for damages and the security deposit in small claims court.
Rent control – California renters laws – California renters laws in relation to rent control will vary from city to city. For example, residents in Los Angeles are subject to rent control while some other cities in California are not subject to any sort of rent control at all. If a property is subject to rent control, landlords will have to seek the approval or compliance of the rent control board before they increase rent or file eviction procedures against a tenant.
Evictions – California renters laws – According to California renters laws, an eviction order will have to be issued in court. After an eviction order is issued, the tenant will have 5 days to move from the apartment. If the tenant does not move after these 5 days, the landlord may use the assistance of the sheriff’s department to forcibly evict the tenant or simply change the locks of the apartment.