California Tenant Law
California Tenant Law
California tenant law covers a number of issues such as security deposits, repairs, termination of lease, evictions and a lot of other clauses as well. California tenant law was established to clearly draw out the rights and responsibilities of both the tenants and the landlords. Below, you will find a quick summary of the most important aspects of California tenant law.
Security deposit – California tenant law – According to California tenant law, a landlord must refund a security deposit within a period of 3 weeks after a tenant has vacated the rental premises. California tenant law will allow the landlord to make any deductions to the security deposit as long as the deductions are made to pay for repairs that can only be described as beyond the scope of normal wear and tear. As for security deposit limitations, California tenant law says that a landlord can charge up to two months of rent as security deposit for unfurnished apartments while they can charge three months of rent as a security deposit for a furnished apartment. Additionally, California tenant law will allow a landlord to charge an extra half a month’s rent as security deposit if the tenant has a waterbed in their possession.
Repairs – California tenant law –According to California tenant law, the landlord is not liable to carry out any repairs in a rental property if the damage in the apartment was caused by the actions of the tenant or guests of the tenant. Also, California tenant law will not hold the landlord liable for repairs to appliances unless the rental agreement mentions otherwise. It has to be said that California tenant law in regards to repairs is a little biased towards the landlord and a tenant will be well advised to go through all the terms of a rental agreement to fully understand the situation concerning repairs.
Termination of a lease at the end of a lease- California tenant law – According to California tenant law, a tenant will be eligible for a 60 day notice of lease termination if they have lived in an apartment for more than a year. Even tenants who are living on a month to month basis will be eligible to 60 days notice if they have lived at the apartment for longer than a year. However, California tenant law will only require the landlord to provide 30 days notice to tenants who have lived for less than a year. The 30 days notice is also applicable when the rental property has been sold and when the new owners intend to move into the property themselves.
Termination of a lease abruptly - California tenant law – Sometimes, a landlord might want to terminate a lease when a tenant does not pay rent on time or when they break the terms of a lease. In these cases, it is enough for the landlord to provide only three days of notice to ask the tenant to vacate the property. If the tenant fails to leave during these three days, the landlord will have to file an eviction case in court to evict the tenant.