California Tenant Rights
California is the one of the most heavily populated states in the U.S. and an overwhelming majority of that population is renters who have taken residence in one of the many thriving counties in California. A California tenant is subject to protection and rights as dictated by the state’s tenancy laws. This article will go over some of the important California tenant rights that are effective today.
Rights against discrimination – California tenant – A California tenant is sometimes subject to discrimination from the landlord as there is a very diverse culture in California. Not everyone likes everyone else and there are always a few cases of isolated racism and discrimination, even in the renting scene. However, a California tenant can take refuge in the fact that state tenancy laws strictly prohibit discrimination practices in rental contracts.
Security deposits – California tenant – A California tenant will usually have to pay two months of rent as security deposit before they can move into a rental unit. If the apartment is furnished, the California tenant will have to pay as much as three months of rent as security deposit. However, it would be illegal for landlords to charge a California tenant anything more than the maximum security deposits that have just been mentioned above. However, some cities in California will allow a landlord to charge a California tenant with an extra half a month’s rent as security deposit if the tenant is in possession of a waterbed. A California tenant will be eligible to receive a refund of the security deposit within a period of three weeks after leaving the rental premises, after the end of a lease.
Rent payments – California tenant – A California tenant need not pay any late fees for late rent payments unless the landlord has clearly mentioned a clause about the late payments in the rental agreement. Also, it will be illegal for a landlord to increase the rent suddenly for a California tenant who has signed a yearly lease. The landlord will have to wait until the end of the lease period to increase the rent and will also have to provide the California tenant with adequate notice before increasing the rent. If a California tenant has not signed a lease and is on a month to month renting arrangement, tenancy laws will still require the landlord to provide that tenant with at least 30 days of notice before increasing the rent.
Privacy laws – California tenant – A landlord can enter a rental property only after providing the tenant with a written notice that should be issued at least 24 hours prior to the actual entry time of the landlord. However, these privacy laws will not prevent the landlord from entering without notice in certain emergency situations. For example, a landlord can enter a rental property without notice in the event of a fire. Also, the landlord can enter without notice to inspect a water bed or to carry out emergency repairs. The landlord will also have the right to enter the property without notice if they have court issued eviction papers.
California Tenant Rights
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.