Colorado Rental Rights
Colorado Rental Rights
If you are a tenant and live in Colorado or any other state in the US, it is important that you look up the rental rights in your particular state to be aware of your rights and obligations when it comes to living in the rented premises. This article will go over Colorado rental rights in particular.
Lease agreements – Colorado rental rights – A good lease or rental agreement should cover various clauses of Colorado rental rights. Some of the most important ones that should be mentioned in a lease agreement are lease period, security deposit arrangements, maximum number of occupants who will be permitted to stay, rent amount and payment schedules, repair liabilities, maintenance liabilities and many other factors such as rules about pets, garbage, utilities etc. Your lease agreement will typically override the general Colorado rental rights laws and it is very important that you read through the lease very carefully before putting your signature on the dotted line.
Security deposits – Colorado rental rights – Tenants are well protected under Colorado rental rights when it comes to misuse of security deposit by the landlord. If a landlord holds or fails to return a security deposit within 30 days of a client’s vacation of premises, Colorado rental rights will allow the tenant to take the landlord to court. The tenant can then claim an amount that is three times the original security deposit in the form of damages in addition to also being able to recover attorney and legal fees. The landlord however can rightfully retain a part or the whole of the security deposit if the tenant damaged the property during their stay.
Laws against discrimination – Colorado rental rights – Colorado rental rights guidelines strongly protect the tenant against discrimination from landlords on the basis of race, sex, creed or country of origin. If a tenant feels that he is being discriminated against on any ground, Colorado rental rights will allow him to file a civil lawsuit.
Privacy – Colorado rental rights – Privacy laws are very strict and will protect the tenant in Colorado. In fact, Colorado rental rights are so strict that even an unannounced entry by landlords is considered to be trespassing. A landlord must provide a written notice to the tenant about 48 hours prior to actually entering the apartment. However, Colorado rental rights in regards to privacy do not apply in cases of emergency where the landlord has the full right to enter the apartment without proper notification and at any time of the day or night.
Evictions – Colorado rental rights – A landlord can evict a tenant for three primary reasons which are; failure to pay rent, violation of the lease or an eviction at the end of a lease period. For the first two reasons, Colorado rental rights suggest that a tenant has 48 hours to file an appeal in court against the eviction. If no action is taken within 48 hours after receiving an eviction notice, the tenant will have no choice but to vacate the premises or eventually be forced out. If the eviction was issued because the lease term was up, the landlord will have to provide a reasonable notice to give time to the tenant to vacate the premises. This time will depend on how long the tenant has been staying at the apartment. If they have been renting for more than 6 months, they will have one month to vacate although the time is reduced to just three days when the tenant has rented a property for less than 6 months.