Kansas Renters Rights
Kansas Renters Rights
All Renters laws in Kansas fall under the regulations put forth by the Kansas residential tenant act. This is an extensive document that will run to several pages and it will take a while before a person is able to get a good understanding of Kansas Renters rights. This article will help in that angle as it will provide an easy to understand summary of the most important Kansas Renters rights that are in effect today.
Renters applications – Kansas Renters rights – According to guidelines that surround Kansas Renters rights, a landlord is permitted to charge a Renters application fee. A landlord is also free to select clients based on his or her own parameters although the selection criteria should not be discriminatory against race, religion, sex or country of origin.
Security deposits – Kansas Renters rights – If an apartment is not furnished, Kansas Renters rights will require that a tenant usually pay an equivalent of one month’s rent as security deposit. If the apartment is furnished or if the tenant has a pet, the landlord has the right to charge as much as 1.5 times the amount of the monthly rent. Kansas Renters rights will allow the tenant to recover the whole security deposit within 30 days after vacating the premises of a rented property. It is illegal for a landlord to hold back security deposit refunds to cover expenses that are related to the normal wear and tear of an apartment. Thus, Kansas Renters rights will be in violation if the landlord is holding back the security deposit to repaint the apartment or to relay the carpets. In such cases, Kansas Renters rights will allow the tenant to sue the landlord in a civil court and be reimbursed with the security deposit as well as the legal costs expended to take the matter to court.
Eviction grounds – Kansas Renters rights – Though Kansas Renters rights offer protection for a tenant in many ways, it will not help the tenant when he or she has failed to pay rent or has violated the terms of the Renters agreement or has involved themselves in illegal activity on the premises of the rented property. In these cases, Kansas Renters rights can only help by requiring that landlords seek legal action to serve an eviction order. In other words, a landlord cannot issue a personal eviction notice and will have to go through a court proceeding to get a formal eviction order. Kansas Renters rights will protect the tenant against retaliation from the landlord and it is illegal for a landlord to lock out a tenant or cut off utilities before serving a court issued eviction order. A tenant will usually have a period of only 3 days to vacate the premises after an eviction order has been served. This three day notice is extended to 5 days if the eviction notice was mailed and not served in person. If the tenant does not move out even after this period, Kansas Renters rights cannot stop the landlord from locking out the apartment and cutting off utility supplies to the property in question.