Michigan Tenant Rights
Michigan Tenant Rights
Tenancy law in the U.S. is regulated by individual state governments. So, if you are a tenant in the state of Michigan, you will have to be aware of specific Michigan tenant rights that apply to your rental contract. These Michigan tenant rights can be looked up in a state law handbook although the passage below will attempt to quickly summarize the most important Michigan tenant rights in effect today.
Increase in rent – Michigan tenant rights – Michigan tenant rights will allow a tenant to question an increase in rent, especially if the rent is increased during the course of a lease term. An increase in rent may be made only if it is compliance with the federal, state as well as local jurisdictions. According to Michigan tenant rights guidelines, landlords may increase the rent in the middle of a lease term although they will have to first obtain permission from the tenant by seeking their signature on a notice that will inform them of an increase in rent. A tenant will usually have 30 days to respond to such a notice that is issued by the landlord.
Security deposit – Michigan tenant rights – Michigan tenant rights will allow a tenant to seek a refund of the security deposit within a period of 30 days after a tenant has left an apartment at the end of a lease. Additionally, Michigan tenant rights guidelines will require the landlord to disclose the bank account in which the security deposit amount will be held. The security deposit must be held in an escrow account that is separate from the personal and business finances of the landlord. According to Michigan tenant rights guidelines, landlords also have the option to hold the security deposit amount in the form of a surety bond. Lastly, Michigan tenant rights guidelines will cap the maximum security deposit at an amount that is equal to 1.5 times the monthly rent.
Pertaining to the clause about security deposit refunds, it is very important for tenants in Michigan to understand that they must leave their forwarding address with the landlord when they leave the apartment. Failing to do so will mean that the landlord is not obligated to return the security deposit. This is a loophole in Michigan tenant rights guidelines that is commonly exploited rather unfairly by landlords. Tenants must make it a point to inform landlords about their new whereabouts in writing to avoid seeing their rights being abused.
Eviction process – Michigan tenant rights – Just like in any other state in the U.S., Michigan tenant rights will allow the tenant to be evicted only after the court has issued an eviction order. It is illegal for landlords to carry out an eviction on their own or try harassment techniques to make the tenant quit as it would be in violation of Michigan tenant rights. Michigan tenant rights will allow a tenant to fight the eviction case in court and it will usually take about 10 business days for the court to issue an eviction order after the date on which it was filed.