Missouri Renters Laws
Missouri Renters Laws – Renter’s Rights in Missouri
If you are reading this article, it would probably mean that you are a tenant in the state of Missouri who is trying to look up Missouri renters laws and Missouri tenant rights. If that is the case, this article is definitely a good find for you as it will quickly go over the most important Missouri renters laws. Without much further ado, here is a quick list of the most frequently researched Missouri renters laws.
Security deposits – Missouri renters laws – Missouri renters laws will require that the landlord does not charge a security deposit amount that is more than the equivalent sum of two months of rent. Also, Missouri renters laws will require that the landlord refund the security deposit within a 30 day period, once the tenant has left an apartment or rental property. If any deductions are being made to the security deposit, Missouri renters laws will require that the landlord submit a written notice about the deductions and why they are being made. For example, the landlord will have to provide proof of expenses by producing bills and invoices to substantiate the repair work. Finally, Missouri renters laws will require that a landlord inform the tenant about the date on which he will be carrying out an inspection of an apartment once the tenant has vacated the premises.
Review of the lease – Missouri renters laws – Missouri renters laws will allow a tenant to review the lease and voice any concerns about it. For example, Missouri renters laws will allow a tenant to request the landlord to rewrite a lease if the language in the lease agreement is too difficult to understand. Once a lease is reviewed, it will have to signed and dated by both the tenant and the landlord in order to be valid.
Repair work – Missouri renters laws – Missouri renters laws will allow a tenant to carry out their own repair work as long as the following conditions are met. The repair work should not exceed $300 or half a month’s rent, whichever is more. The tenant must have also informed the landlord about carrying out the repair work and must have waited at least 14 days before actually carrying out the repair work. If these conditions are met, Missouri renters laws will allow a tenant to go ahead and carry out the repairs and then deduct the repair expenses from the next month’s rent.
Termination of a lease – Missouri renters laws – Missouri renters laws requires that tenants and landlords both provide each other with 60 days notice if they wish to terminate a lease. If the tenant is living on a month to month basis, Missouri law will only require a 30 day notice of termination from either party.
Discrimination – Missouri renters laws – Missouri rental law makes it illegal for landlords to discriminate against potential tenants based on their sex, color, race, country of origin or creed. Tenants who feel that they have been discriminated against may approach the Missouri Human Rights Commission located in Jefferson City, Missouri.
Missouri Renters Laws
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.