Nevada Rental Rights
Nevada Rental Rights
All rental law in the state of Nevada falls under Chapter 118A. It might be difficult for a common man such as a tenant to fully understand all the statutes that define the Nevada rental rights. This article will hopefully help in that matter by providing a quick but informative summary of the most important Nevada rental rights that are in effect in the state today.
Rental agreement – Nevada rental rights – A tenant should ensure that a good written lease agreement should be signed by both the tenant and the landlord if they want their Nevada rental rights to be protected. A good rental agreement should mention various factors such as length of lease, rent amount, living conditions, maintenance issues, statutes for late fees and eviction and so on. Nevada rental rights are also protected by verbal contracts although verbal contracts often result in several disputes arising out of a “he said, I said’ situation.
Security deposits – Nevada rental rights – Nevada rental rights limit the maximum security deposit amount to an equivalent of three months of rent. A security deposit charged in the state of Nevada may include a small portion that is non refundable in the form of a cleaning deposit. The Nevada rental rights about security deposit will have to be closely inspected in the tenancy agreement as security deposit clauses are often the most disputed items in renting contracts. Nevada rental rights will make it eligible for a tenant to seek a refund of the security deposit within a period of 30 days after the end of a lease, assuming that the tenant has given due notice as required in the lease agreement. If the landlord has deducted some expenses from the security deposit, they will be required to give a written explanation of those charges to fulfill their responsibilities towards compliance with Nevada rental rights obligations.
Notice period – Nevada rental rights – Week to week tenants can be asked to vacate the premises of a property with just a 7 day notice while Nevada rental rights will require that a landlord give a 30 day notice to vacate tenants who have signed a rental agreement for longer periods. Nevada rental rights will give a tenant just five days notice to evict a property if they are found guilty of not paying rent or for creating a nuisance on the property or for violating the terms of the lease.
Eviction processes – Nevada rental rights – A landlord will serve what is called an eviction complaint to the court when he wants to evict a tenant. Nevada rental rights will then give the tenant an opportunity to contest this complaint in court. If the tenant loses the case, Nevada rental rights will favor the landlord who can forcibly evict the tenant from the premises of the property. However, Nevada rental rights will help the tenant a little bit by requiring that the landlord safeguard the belongings of the tenant for a period of no more than 30 days at the property. These particular rights will give the tenant a few vital days in which they don’t have to be spending on storage expenses while they hunt for a new apartment.