Tenants Rights Florida
Tenants Rights Florida
Florida is the 4th most populated state in the U.S. and has a total population that is close to 20 million. A large chunk of that 20 million residents are tenants who have taken up residence in various rental properties across the state. Those tenants will find this article quite useful as it will quickly try to go over some of the most important tenants rights in Florida. These tenants rights in Florida will help protect tenants against abusive or unethical landlords who might try to use their authority in a rental agreement to unfairly exploit the tenant’s peace and finances. Without much further ado, here is a list of tenants rights in Florida.
Security deposits – tenants rights Florida – Tenant rights in Florida will allow a tenant to receive a refund of their security deposit within a two week period after they have left the rental apartment. A landlord may make deductions to the security deposit if the tenant has caused repairs in the apartment although tenants rights in Florida will require the landlord to provide an itemized bill that will show the various repairs and their corresponding expenses. Tenants rights in Florida will allow the tenant to expect such a bill to be delivered to them by certified mail. Generally, a state’s tenancy law will limit the amount of security deposit that can be charged to one or two months of rent although tenants rights in Florida will not offer this protection to tenants as landlords are free to charge whatever they want as security deposit from their tenants.
Eviction process – tenants rights in Florida – Tenants rights in Florida will allow a Florida renter to receive a brief notice period before the landlord goes ahead and files an eviction case against them. For nonpayment of rent, tenants rights in Florida will allow tenant to receive a three day notice before a case is filed in court. For breaking the terms of a lease, tenants rights in Florida will allow a tenant to receive 7 days of notice before the landlord can proceed to court. Once the landlord files the case in court, tenants rights in Florida will allow the tenant a period of 5 days after which they will need to appear in front of a judge who will decide on the eviction case.
What happens to personal property during an eviction? tenants rights in Florida – Some states will allow landlords to sell the personal property of a tenant who is evicted although tenants rights in Florida will protect tenants against any such sale. According to tenants rights in Florida guidelines, it is illegal for a landlord to try to sell property even if they are doing it with an intention to recover back rent or damages caused by the evicted tenant.
Withholding of rent – tenants rights in Florida – Tenants rights in Florida will allow a tenant to withhold rent payments if the landlord has failed to keep the apartment in a habitable condition, with running water, heat, electricity and other such basic amenities.