Vermont Rental Rights
Vermont Rental Rights
Vermont might be one of the smallest states in the U.S. although they do have an extensive set of Vermont rental rights that apply to both tenants and landlords. These Vermont rental rights were created with an intention to create an environment where both landlords and tenant are able to participate in a hassle free renting experience. The article below will quickly sum up some of the most important Vermont rental rights in effect today.
Lease agreements – Vermont rental rights – Both written and oral rental agreements are valid in the state of Vermont. A rental agreement or lease agreement should not contain any clause that restricts or violates Vermont rental rights as set forth by the state. However, the landlord has some flexibility in including some special rules in the lease agreement. For example, he has the right to deny tenancy to tenants who have certain types of pets.
Fees – Vermont rental rights – Vermont rental rights will prevent a prospective client or tenant from paying any rental application fees, regardless of whether or not they eventually land the apartment as tenants.
Security deposits – Vermont rental rights – Vermont rental law will require that landlords return security deposits as refunds within a period of 14 days after a tenant has vacated the premises. If the landlord is making any deductions to the security deposit, Vermont rental rights law will require that the landlord provide the tenant with an itemized list of expenses or repairs that will justify the deductions.
Maintenance and access – Vermont rental rights – Landlords have the responsibility to carry out routine repairs in an apartment although they are not obligated to carry out a repair if it was explicitly caused by the actions of a tenant or a guest staying in the rental property. Vermont rental rights will allow a tenant to carry out their own repair work and then deduct it from the next month’s rent. Vermont rental rights will also allow tenants to receive a 48 hour notice from the landlord before the landlord is allowed to make an entry into the property to carry out repairs.
Reasons for terminating a lease – Vermont rental rights – For tenants who are unable to pay rent, Vermont rental rights will give them 14 days to pay rent before they will be required to vacate a property. Tenants who have violated other terms in the lease will have to be provided with a 30 day notice as part of Vermont rental rights guidelines.
Rental increases – Vermont rental rights – Rental increases are allowed only if there is a clause in the renal agreement that will allow it. If the rental agreement does not mention anything about rent increase, Vermont laws will disallow any increase in rent until the lease period is up. If there is a clause for rental increase in the lease agreement, Vermont rental rights will still require that the tenant receive a 60 day notice before an increase in rent is implemented. This notice period is increased to 90 days for tenants living in the Burlington County.