Washington State Tenant
Washington State Tenant – Tenancy Laws Applicable to Tenants in Washington State
This article will discuss some of the rights that are available to a Washington state tenant. A Washington state tenant has to realize that the list of rights below is not the only rights that will be available to them. The rights below are simply discussed because they are the most important rights and a Washington state tenant can look up the chapter on tenancy law statues if they want to find a complete list of tenancy law and rights. Alternatively, a Washington state tenant may also hire the services of an attorney if they are not completely sure of their rights and are involved in any sort of legal battle with the landlord.
Types of lease – Washington state tenant – A Washington state tenant can enter into a lease through an oral contract or a written contract. The most popular type of tenancy that is availed by a Washington state tenant is one where the tenant agrees to a periodic tenancy, living from month to month or from week to week. A periodic tenancy is when the Washington state tenant automatically renews the periodic tenancy when they pay rent at regular intervals. A Washington state tenant may end a periodic tenancy by usually providing just one period of rent as notice.
Security deposits – Washington state tenant – A Washington state tenant is very well protected by the state tenancy laws when it comes to security deposit issues. A Washington state tenant will not be required to pay a security deposit that is more than one month’s rent. Also, a Washington state tenant can demand that the landlord keep the security deposit in an interest bearing account. The landlord will have only 45 days to refund the security deposit at the end of the lease, when the Washington state tenant has moved out of the apartment. At this time, the landlord will be required to pay the interest that has accumulated on the security deposit, to the tenant.
Eviction procedures – Washington state tenant – A Washington state tenant will first have to be served with a notice of eviction, before the eviction case proceeds to court. This notice to evict will usually give a tenant about 30 days of time in which they can either try to pay back rent or come in compliance with the terms of the lease. If a landlord is evicting a tenant to personally use the property, the Washington state tenant will be entitled to 90 days of notice before the landlord can file for an eviction case. This notice will have to be hand delivered to the concerned tenant and will have to be written in both English and Spanish. If the tenant is not present at the time of serving the notice, the landlord will have to post the notice on the property of the tenant and also send a copy of the same through mail. Once 30 days have passed after a notice to evict is served, the landlord may proceed to file an eviction case in court that will hold a hearing to decide on the case.
Washington State Tenant
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.